PUEBLO CITY-COUNTY LIBRARY DISTRICT RESOLUTION TO AWARD EXEMPLARY PERFORMANCE

WHEREAS, the Pueblo City-County Library District (PCCLD) strives to provide the best possible public library service for its community; and

WHEREAS, PCCLD is pleased to demonstrate its achievements in this regard by being selected as a 2017 *Four Star Library* by the <u>Library Journal</u>, among the most prestigious public library recognitions, and as a nominee for the 2018 National Medal for Museum and Library Service, our nation's highest honor for libraries; and

WHEREAS, PCCLD also substantiated its high standing when it was nominated by Laura Savage for the Engaging Local Government Leaders (ELGL) Leslie B. Knope "people's choice" award as the America's Best Public Library; and

WHEREAS, the citizens of Pueblo County along with our champions from across the nation and around the world rallied in support of PCCLD during this competition; and

WHEREAS, on March 5, 2018, it was proclaimed by ELGL that PCCLD received the most votes and was designated as America's Best Public Library; and

WHEREAS, PCCLD employees Midori Clark, Ann Boyden, Gloria Madrill, Michelle Vigil, Sara Schwartz, and Dave Hayden of the Community Relations team along with Laura Savage worked tirelessly over a period of six weeks to promote the library district and were instrumental in gaining more than 25,000 votes for the library district in order to win the ELGL contest; and

WHEREAS, the efforts of these individuals amounted to extra duty beyond and in addition to those tasks normally assigned; and

WHEREAS, their dedication in carrying out this work was excellently performed; and

WHEREAS, their service helped encourage a tremendous groundswell of support that caused PCCLD's election as America's Best Public Library;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Pueblo City-County Library District Board of Trustees, congratulate Midori Clark, Ann Boyden, Gloria Madrill, Michelle Vigil, Sara Schwartz, and Dave Hayden and Laura Savage for their dedication to this effort on behalf of the library district and the local community; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Pueblo City-County Library District Board of Trustees extend to Midori Clark, Ann Boyden, Gloria Madrill, Michelle Vigil, Sara Schwartz, Dave Hayden, and Laura Savage its sincere and official appreciation for their outstanding service on behalf of the library district and the local community; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Pueblo City-County Library District Board of Trustees, in consideration of this exemplary achievement, extend to Midori Clark, Ann Boyden, Gloria Madrill, Michelle Vigil, Sara Schwartz, and Dave Hayden the immediate award of an additional three days of paid vacation for each of these deserving employees (to be awarded pro rata for part-time employees); and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Pueblo City-County Library District Board of Trustees, in consideration of this exemplary achievement, extend to Laura Savage a special gift of appreciation;

ADOPTED, this 26th day of April, 2018, by the Board of Trustees of the Pueblo City-County Library District.

ATTEST:

Ms. Doreen Martinez, President President Board of Trustees Jane Carlsen, Secretary